Cutting all the way through wood issues

I’m pretty new to this. I have done multiple cuts now, and seem to be getting the hang of it, except when it comes to cutting all the way through the wood. It has worked a few times, ok, but others I always seem to have problems with bit/router shaking, and today it tore into the side wall on the final pass. I have tabs in place, everything is secured well. I have tried various speeds, and various bits. Does anyone have suggestions for cutting through hard wood as far as what depth per pass, feed rate, plunge rate, etc…? Upper right side in pic is what happened today. I don’t wanna be scared to keep working on projects that require full cut through.

Thanks!

Is this red oak?
Its pretty notorious for not carving easily. It can be carved but the settings require a more narrow selection versus other hard woods that are more accepting to a variety of settings.

However the first thing i suggest is ensuring the belt tensions and eccentric nuts are adjusted correctly before anything else because if those are off than nothing will fix the issue…

I honestly don’t know what type of wood it is. It’s an old stained piece that was in our bathroom. I was using it to experiment on. I had everything calibrated not too far back, maybe I should check again.

1 Like

Is it better to use an 1/8 bit or something bigger like a 1/4 to cut through?

1 Like

Id use the smaller 1/8" bit. Less forces placed into the cnc frame cnc motors using the smaller bit.
What type of endmill are you using?

I’ve tried a few different ones. I wanna say the last one I used was a 1/4 upcut bit. I’m about to head out in my shop now and recalibrate. I notice the bottom wheels aren’t even touching the bottom track on the Y axis. Maybe that’s causing it.

1 Like