Cutting Aluminum Questions and Tips

So I have been taking a good amount of time lately trying to get my machine dialed in for maximum precision, now that I have been able to cut a couple small projects I have decided I want to see how far I can push it.

I have seen several people cut metal on the forum, and I happen to have a source for cheap aluminum in my area so I thought maybe I would give it a shot.

So before I start I thought I would open up the floor to an tips and trick.

I have been looking at buying metal cutting bits to begin with and have read that you need to move a lot shallower cuts, but other than that I am a complete novice.

I was also thinking about an oil bath and was wondering if anyone had attempted that. How do you contain the liquid? and how do you mount it?

Thanks in advance.

There is tons of info on forums for bits sources and what to use, your choices will heavily depend on what you need and what did you do to your machine if anything.
I can give you my idea how I contain liquids.

I took a piece of MDF 1/2 inch and I clamped it on the surface that I use for my general wood and what not cutting.
I warked edges with marker to make sure I always claim it in same spot than I used resurfacing 1 inch bit to make sure surface is parallel to my router.
Next what I did is I cut 1/8 deep pocket square in the center to make sure I fit my typical 12x12 square.
When I cut alu I always start with drilling holes in 4 corners if design allows it and I just use very short screws to just secure material in place.
When done I just remove the jig I made and clean it off the machine. The overlap allows me to be generous with WD-40 I use but I would imagine if you look at other materials beyond MDF you can build something that would allow you to just make bath.

1 Like