Cutting into acrylic or plexiglass

im doing the stormtrooper project and i notice when i use easel it says my bit is to big to do. i used a tapered ball nose bit and it just melts the plastic away

Due to the way I made that shape there are some tight spots that only very small endmills can get into. My endmill was to big as well and I just expected some of those tight spots to be a bit rounder than straight.

What type of acrylic are you using? If its from home depot or some place like that then Im not surprised its melting. The one in the photos was done in acrylic from home depot but I had to take extra steps to use that acrylic.

What is the rpm of the router? If you have it spinning to fast it will create a lot of heat. Spin it slower than you think and you should get some nice chips.

What exact bit are you using? I have never used a tapered bit before bit I dont think its to much of an issue unless it cuts the acrylic differently then a regular endmill does.

Depth of cut is also a factor here. The more passes you take the more heat is created. When I made this it only took one pass and then was done because you dont need to go very deep in order to get the proper look.

ok i can understand now i had the router up pretty high and it was cutting at a decent rate. any recommendations on cutting speed i put the exact bit in that you have and i did another trooper and it turned out great i have 1/4 in acrylic and i did 2 passes. so what you said kind of explains a lot to me. i picked the acrylic at a local window shop. was a decent price. now i have some other things to buy to make this thing work cool like that in the pic