Deciding between xcarve pro or alternatives

hey guys, so i cant decide if the xcarve pro will satisfy my requirements. I create artistic wood inlays and other patterns on 4x8 sheets of plywood or glued together wood for flooring for gyms. I dont need to pump out crazy volume is why i was looking at hobby CNC machines, im trying to decide between a xcarve pro or a camaster x3, im new to cnc machines. I liked that the camaster can cut aluminum sheet metal aswell as i have design ideas for smaller pieces of gym equipment, and is rigid (welded) in its design. Is it possible to upgrade the xcarve pro to accept 4x8 sheets. can i just weld a table together so i dont need to worry about alignment? why is the laser engraver add on void the warranty? ive seen alot of the DIY machines that are cheaper but are their issues with accuracy? accuracy is hugely important to me as theres alot of fine lines and id like really detailed work. appreciate any guidance, i hope the xcarve can suffice for my application but if not id appreciate some information of why or why not

Hey Warren,

I know this is an old topic, so I hope it reaches you okay. (And if not, maybe it’ll help someone else out)

So, this is my first ever CNC, and i’m about 3 days into it.
The machine can cut 4x8…as with the new tiling feature, it can technically cut 4 x Infinity.

The machine comes with leveling feet, and leveling/squaring the machine is one of the steps in setup. With that said, the first ever “cut” you do, is using the planer bit, and it’ll get you that flat surface.

The laser engraver isn’t a supported option, as it’s not what the machine was designed for, and if somebody were to add a laser (at the time of this writing), would imply they modified the machine to make it work, and that could definitely void the warranty.

Accuracy with this machine is pretty spot on, even though it uses stepper motors, I had one slight issue at first, which was easily corrected by properly tensioning a belt.

1 Like