Depth of Cut and Speed Questions

Hi All,

First off, A big thank you to all the contributors on this forum! The experience and troubleshooting help from here has been a HUGE help with getting started.

I am new to CNC so I have a few questions…

1. With depth of cut being .08 (3/4" Red Oak / Dewalt 611 / 1/8" Down-cut Bit) - What speed should my Feed Rate be set at?

2. For Dewalt 611 users… What speed would you set your router at using above info?

3. When routing should I be removing a lot of saw dust of larger pieces (1/8" bit)?

4. When pocketing a large area, what is a good Step Over % (Again 1/8" bit)?

I’m sure I’ll have more questions as I go but any info for a “Newbie” would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks Again!
Morgan

Between the variety of modifications, V-wheel tightness, belt tension, and everything else, each machine is different. Also, in my experience red oak is a royal pain, so it’s hard to give a good speed estimate. I’d recommend you try doing a feed/speed test with the wood and the bit and find out what works best for you. You can find a good test design at Calibrating Feeds and Speeds When Using Carbide Microtools, just modify as needed. Keep in mind that most of the community members will recommend not cutting deeper than half bit diameter in a single pass.

When I do my feed/speed testing, I start at 1/2 bit diameter cut depth and 60% of the calculated recommended speed. Then I’ll cut a line (or box .001" thick and 4" long) and examine the chips for .003" thickness. I’ll also examine the sides for chatter, burning, or other problems. From there, I’ll drop the cut depth by 10% if there’s chatter, especially for straight flute bits. I’ll also adjust speed up and down in small increments until I go from “good” to “not so good”. It may take a dozen passes, and you should do this with each bit/material combination, but once you’ve done it once for a bit/material combo you can write down the numbers you used and use them again.