Double checking my data before first attempt at aluminum

Hello all, I have done my best to research, but I just wanted to go over my workflow process before I start the cut. I believe it to be a relatively simple job.

Im cutting into 1/8" 6061 aluminum. The dashes in the center are an SVG file I have uploaded, and they only need to be etched onto the surface - anywhere between .2mm - 1mm. I have a 60 degree V coated carbide tip for this portion of the job. I am then going to change the bit to a 1/16" coated O flute spiral and use it to cut the etching out of the aluminum. The screenshot attached has the job being done in one pass with only with the V bit…I know to do them as two separate jobs.

I will be following Inventables recommendation for Carvey and aluminum as I found on their site " **Safe limits for Aluminum are as follows: 5”/min feed rate, 2.5”/min plunge rate, 0.003”/pass with minimum 0.0625” milling bit.*" although I have searched the forum and do see users using deeper passes than .0003" - any insight onto this?

Ive also seen that I need to use “Helical or torchoidal toolpaths like they have in Fusion 360”, but this is outside of my current level of understanding. I have Fusion 360, but I have barely used it. Sketchup is often fine enough for my modeling needs. Also, I pay for Easel Pro…is the pro version not capable of doing this?

Im a novice so I am just wanting to be sure that this is the right way to go about this. Im also not totally sure on if I should coat the aluminum in oil/alcohol/WD-40. If so, should I simply pause the job on the Carvey and lift the lid every few minutes to brush away chips and respray? Seems like a hassle, but willing to do it if it means it does the job right.

Thanks for any insight.

Hello @ZachSearcy and welcome!

For the project, you will want to take the cutout and move it to a separate workpiece. Currently, Easel uses the defined detail bit for any cutout within a project.