DW611 Spindle Control

I am getting ready to install a Super Pid controller onto my Xcarve. In the meantime I have been playing around with some Gcode settings re-familiarizing myself with them. In doing so, I stumbled across an interesting tidbit of information. I do not know how this actually affects the 611. This may be a terrible thing to do. I am not an electrical engineer, but I am hoping some of you who do know the physics behind this will chime in.

I recently upgraded to the CNC4NEWBIE X-Carve Slide. It is a substantial upgrade from the stock Z.
With the anticipation of the upgrade, I started hacking the 611. I originally installed a router speed controller ($20 Harbor Freight) so that I could control the spindle speed from the control box instead of on the machine. This gave me the opportunity to adjust the spindle speed on the fly which was really nice to have and I did not have to worry about trying to do it on a moving machine. By doing this, I had to bypass the internal speed controller, Matter of fact, I removed it all together and wired the 611 to be always on without a built in power switch. Granted in removing the internal components, I lost the functionality of the LED lights, I will work on those later. By removing the Internal controls on the 611 the new Router speed control works great. In addition I gained more space under the hood, So a Probe input was installed below the previous speed control knob and above the previous power switch. The Rpm sensor was installed in the location that previously housed the Power Switch.

But here is what I found today while playing with Gcode. Because of removing the Internal speed controls within the 611 and Hardwiring the Spindle to the SSR25DA that is connected to the spindle control on the earlier power supply with Logic card, I can control the spindle speed with a M3 and S command.