Easel for Linux

I have installed the latest Easel driver for Linux (0.3.18) but can’t seem to get it working. I’m using Ubuntu 18.04.4.

After trying to troubleshoot online, I’ve tried the following:
-adding my username to dialout group
-used Gdebi to install (Package installer shows Status: Same version is already installed)
-tried Firefox instead of Chrome

I can’t get my Carve button to turn green. It remains blue and when I click on it it asks me to download the driver for Linux.

I purchased a new Chromebook after seeing in these forums that others were able to get Chromebooks working after installing Linux but I can’t seem to get past the Blue Carve button! I tried email support but was unable to get support because it’s a Chromebook.

Is there anyone out there that might be familiar with running Easel via Linux Ubuntu 18.04 that might be able to help me out?

I’m a newbie when it comes to Linux but I’ve been able to get the terminal commands figured out so far. I can try to provide any additional information that might help shed some light on what’s going on!

I’d love to get my XCarve up and running on this computer that I purchased specifically for carving.

Thanks so much!

Have you tried GitHub - samyk/easel-driver: Easel driver for Linux, Mac, Windows, ARM, Raspberry Pi, Intel, FTDI, CH340, CH341, CP210x, FTDI clones, local, and remote access to GRBL-based CNC controllers?

I haven’t been able to get this to work at all… Just lists a bunch of nvm failures and doesn’t run at all.

Some proper install instructions would be good.

Will you please share what the errors are, either here or on the git’s Issues section? It’s hard for me to guess what you’re experiencing.