Easel Import Image Trace

I use Easel to Import an Image and then generate a g-code. I download to a flash drive and use my 3018 PROVer controller to run the file. My question is why does the spindle make a dozen or so passes before the spindle is lowered and starts to carve? I do eventually get my carving completed but it takes almost 4X the time simulated. Any suggestions?

Did you set the Z-Zero position to the top of your material? This is where Easel typically expect the Z-Zero to be.

{:0)

Brandon Parker

I use Candle to run the g-code from my controller and I use the “Probe” function before I use “Home”. Once the Spindle is in position I set the XYZ to zero. Is that what you are referring to? Thanks for the reply, I am still pretty new to this CNC fun…

What’s your $102 setting value?

Probably a misconfiguration of Z-reference or a mismatch between Z-reference in Easel / 3018PROVer controller. Switching between programs/controllers without a proper “translator” aka post processor (PP) can cause issues.

Do your design ultimately reach the expected depth or is there a discrepancy here also?

My depth when finished is correct but I just heard from the Sainsmart Facebook Group who suggested a known glitch in the Easel software when using the offline controller. You have to download the g-code into Candle and then save it to the memory card for the controller. I tried that it and it worked perfectly so I am good for now. Appreciate the response…

Hey Neil from Dublin,Ohio. I come from Geneva, Ohio so we are “related”? Thanks for the reply but I found out that there is a problem with Easel when you use the Sainsmart offline controller. You have to load the g-code into Candle and then save the file to the flash card. I did that and the carving went exactly as the Easel simulation predicted. Appreciate the response and I am sure I will have more questions as I learn more about this CNC world. Thanks again…