Easel not recognizing X-Carve, should be simple fix - Mac OSX

I know this has been ‘somewhat’ addressed on here, but in all the reading, I haven’t found my specific case. I bought/assembled the 1000mm X-Carve and after updating my Mac OS to 10.12.2, turning off my Bluetooth (wasn’t clear on whether this was blocking a COM port) and plugging the laptop in (I was unsure if 30% battery life was enough to power the connection, I was able to get a connection last night for a few test cuts.

No idea why it won’t connect and furthermore why it connected last night? I am on a Mac, I’ve installed the local Easel driver (3.2) and I’m kind of at a loss. I also checked the ‘About this Mac > System Report > USB > USB 3.0 Bus’ and the X-controller IS being recognized. I am not familiar with Terminal, Arduino, FTDI or any of the other things these forums seem to assume is understood as an effort to troubleshoot – TOTAL newbie to CNC.

I’ve read all the forums and most are over my head. I just want this thing to work :frowning:

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I unintelligently took on a project that assumes this capability and the deadline is looming!

brandon