Easel Review

I have been using Easel Pro for several months now, but really only for basic setup of a carve file, and then I export out to use a different program to do the actual cutting, such as Makerverse and UGS.

I do this for a couple of reasons. One, I couldn’t get Easel to talk to my M2 to even try to cut (probably my fault in hindsight), and Makerverse works really well. I can export a g-code file from Easel and open it in Makerverse and can set what I need from there. Easel does work with my little 4040 machine, but I really don’t like that I can’t trace my workpiece with the spindle. If I output the file and use UGS, I can trace my piece and even watch my cut paths as they are about to happen. Easel doesn’t do that.

I am trying to give Easel a fair shakedown and using it more. Here’s what I like and don’t like about it.

Like:

• I do like that Easel is easy to use. It has a fairly simple and intuitive interface that is easy to figure out.
  • Easel has a bunch of apps that are useful and easy to use.
  • I can easily switch between inches and mm whenever I like.
  • I like that I can change bits and see immediately in the preview the changes that it will make.
  • The Detail and Simulate buttons give good details, even if they are not very accurate on the time sometimes.
  • I do like that I can manually change the Feed Rate on the fly during a carve. This is a huge bonus!
  • I like the ability to do two-stage carves using different bits. This really does make a big difference on just how long it takes to do a carve, but I am still struggling to keep accuracy between bit changes. It is probably my fault, but again, it would be great if I could know exactly what my Work Zero position is, or at least have a hole to line up. Neither is an option.

Don’t Like: