Easel settings and limit switches

Hello everybody, I am new to CNC and having trouble with getting my limit switches and homing settings. I did have my limit switches working on easel test page but when I changed some settings they stopped working. My settings seem different as my hard limit is $16= instead of $21=. Why is this? Also now when I press the limit switches I get Alarm: limit switch MPos. I am really stuck. I have sent some snap shots
Thanks Russ

Hi Russ, your settings are assigned differently because you are running grbl version 0.8c (i see this in your 2nd photo under the Hard Limit Alarm line) and the current versions use by most users are 1.1F and above. There were major revisions on 0.9 and 1.0 and 1.1 that changed the setting assignments, this is why your limits are $16 and other peoples are $21.

IF your controller board is compatible with an updated version of Grbl (not all are) then I suggest updating by uploading new firmware via the Arduino console software. I was able to follow a 12year old’s instruction tutorial on YouTube when I first updated mine a few years ago… If you’re unsure if your controller is compatible with new grbl firmware then you might want to purchase a new controller, compatible grbl controllers run about $30 on amazon.

Hi Sethcnc, thankyou for your information, I down loaded the new version of grbl and my stettings all adjusted.