Easel won't recognize 1800 mm expansion

I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong or not. I extended my machine to an 1800 Y axis. Not I’m trying to carve an 11 X 54 inch board with cutouts for speakers. I have it drawn up in easel to specs. However when I hit the carve button, it seems to leave off the top cutout for the 8" speaker.
My machine is not 1000 X 1800. I’m wondering if I need to use a different G code program to send it to the machine since easel only goes up to 1000 X 1000. And I have no experience with those. Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Dave

You should be able to set the size of you machine in the settings to whatever size you want. Can you share your Easel project?

Check your machine settings in advanced.

$130=290.000 (x max travel, mm)
$131=290.000 (y max travel, mm)

It maybe that you are trying to tell it to go past the max.

Andy

1 Like

Hi Rusty,
Okay, I shared the project. There are two. Khanspire Right and Left. One is just a mirror of the other. I don’t know how to set the machine settings. Where is that?
Thanks

Hi Andy,
Thank you. But where will I find these settings?

In Easel, Go to machine->Advanced->Machine Inspector In the settings window will list all the current grbl settings. You can change a variable by typing the new value in the console window.

so to change you y max travel, you would type $131=XXXX , where XXXX is your new maximum travel. Not sreu if you have limits etc enabled, but worth checking.

You are going to have to provide the link to the project, but it sounds like you probably just need to change your work area under Machine. Make sure you are setting it to your workable area, not your rail size.

Hi Rusty,
I set my work area or board size in both places. Under materials and machine. Both are set at 11" X 54"

Have you gone through the Easel Machine set up? Setting the size there might actually change the settings on the Arduino.

Hi Rusty,