Ellipse CadCam model airplane build

I have been flying control line aerobatics for 40 years and wanted to build an elliptical wing airplane. This is something that is impossible to build without tooling. For the design I found DevWING, a software that designs a wing in the way you would do it on paper, very easy to use and ideal for creating toolpaths.
For cutting balsa and plywood I built a ShapeOko2 with the z-axis modification. For the rest it is a stock machine cutting with a Dremel.
I started with the most difficult part of an aerobatic airplane, the tail plane. It had to be elliptical, strong AND light. As pictures tell more than words here are my first building pictures.

6 Likes

Very cool! I’m very interested to see this progress.

• Alex

This is the design of the tail plane from the software, I just finished the design of the wing.

The elliptical shape is clearly visible, with these small wing tips I expect the weight to be very low.

I spent approx US 1000 on my ShapeOko2, modified the z axis for US 200 and invested US 185 in two CAD CAM products (Fuselage and Wing). My experience in CAD was zero when I started. The learning curve is low, it took me a few hours to design my first trainer wing. Making an elliptical wing with all small details I want took a little longer.

Before buying I had a doubt whether it would work for me so I downloaded the software and played with it for a couple of weeks. Once confident that it would work for me I ordered a license. The licence adds the print and CAM functionality.

This is my Z-axis modification. For safety I added a top plate to the construction, a small hole still allows me to rotate the spindle for adjustment.

Cutting the wing ribs already shows the elliptical shape.

With accurate parts the assembly is easy, looks almost like the petronas twin towers in Kuala Lumpur, Maleisië.

1 Like