Engraving letters out of line after each pass

I have been using VCarve to create house signs. I saved the gcode and send it to my xcarve machine using UGS gcode sender. Its been working fine but today did this. Each pass is out of line. Any ideas? thanks.

Looks like Y movement is having issues, are you using the XController or standard Arduino + GRBL shield?

If standard Arduino + GRBL, sounds like you might need to tweak the pots for the Y axis output to prevent this. @RobertA_Rieke has some great YouTube videos on how to do this…

That looks like it is missing steps or slipping.

Run the usual checks
Belt tightness, pulley set screws (this happens a lots), loose or tight v wheels

Check your controller, make sure it is not packed with dust or overheating.
(Double check the pot settings and see if they need to be adjusted.)

Also double check that the gantry Y motors are parallel and not canted to one side.

Hi

Thanks for the reply. I am new to this so think I am using the standard Arduino. What is the X controller?
Thing is it has been working fine up until to day. I will check out the YouTube videos.

I have checked the belts and the Y motors are parallel. How do I check the pot settings?

I am sure you are using the standard GShield. (If you were using the upgraded X Controller you would know :wink:)

There is a video floating around that goes over pot tuning and calibrating the XC.
If you have not adjusted you pots before than that probably needs to be done.
They control how much current is going to your motors.
Too little and they slip under load, too much and the chips overheat and pause as they go into thermal protection mode.

Odds are something has slipped loose from all the vibration of normal use.

Thanks.

I will look at that tomorrow. Your help is appreciated.