Estlcam machine controller

I saw that estlcam uploaded a new youtube video about the machine controll capability of this program. It has some nice features, i think the most of you find interesting.

I am wondering if i still can use easel when is do the arduino setup in estlcam.

I think Ypsilon is German for capital Y.

Hi,

Oooooppppsssā€¦
Yes, it should be ā€œYā€.
Maybe Iā€™ll add subtitles later - Iā€™m German, my English is unfortunately not the best.

If you have any questions or suggestions about Estlcams CNC controller just ask me (Iā€™m the programmer).

Christian

@ChristianKnull Is it possible to make a preset setting for the xcarve? I am new to cnc and cam software, and iā€™m affraid to mess up my arduino.

Hi,

I donā€™t have an xcarve. As far as I know there are many variations of the xcarve with different motors, belts and electronics - so a preset unfortunately wouldnā€™t make much sense.

In terms of software you canā€™t mess up your Arduino - if you donā€™t like Estlcam you can always overwrite it with something else like e.g. GRBL. The only - and unavoidable - danger is if you connect your electronics wrong or select a wrong pin layout - but again this is something presets canā€™t prevent.

Christian

Actually Christian, There is (I believe) only one X-Carve. There are indeed many versions of Shapeoko, of which there are two decendents of the next generation of ā€˜hobby levelā€™ machine. The Shapeoko 3, and also the X-Carve.

I happen to own both, but I have used the X-Carve for a dozen projects, and the Shapeoko3 for NONE.

The difference is the ā€˜tool pathā€™ or in a rookies words, the software path that has to be committed to and processed before the first chip is cut.