Expected Accuracy

Is this as good as it gets, or, should I start troubleshooting? Simple, 45° line to 7/16" depth to check both X and Y travel. 1/8" end mill used. Ignore the threaded insert divot. :wink:

Im not an expert but that looks like it has a lot of wiggle in the play and not even a straight line.

You can do better than that. 0.003" is a good target tolerance. Check out the tuning video and then try the circle, square, triangle test.

2 Likes

circle, square, triangle test

Whar? hehe

You can draw them in Easel.

1 Like

Of all the tuning steps I’ve taken - squaring the frame, tightening the belts, adjusting the eccentric nuts, adjusting the grbl shield voltage pots - it’s the eccentric nut adjustment that seems to be the biggest factor. There seems to be a reasonably sized zone of belt tension that’s not too hard to dial in, but I found that one of my eccentric nuts was set too tightly, and that was causing major binding problems. Once I got those all sorted, the machine performed much better.

3 Likes

Ok, watch out for bound up eccentric nuts, check. or maybe society would be better served if we didn’t untie them?

(Sorry, I couldn’t resist)

2 Likes

Or maybe we just need to change from briefs to boxers. :wink:

Both axes move freely, by hand, with no noticeable binding. I’m thinking (hoping) it’s just a fine-tuning issue with the motor currents.

did you do the entire 7/16 in one pass or did you take multiple passes?
What was your feeds and speeds?

Ive seen this sorta thing if I go too deep too fast with the default spindle

I believe I just used the Easel settings for maple.

Ran the CST test after readjusting all eccentrics. Looks better, but, I’ll reserve judgement until I can do this in some poplar, which I have, and, is harder than PVC foam.

1 Like

That looks way better.

Do you have a digital caliper or a dial indicator?

Yes to both.

Bump.