Finished my shop base cabinets

Hello all! I finally finished the base cabinets for my basement shop, fourteen in total. This is my first time ever making normal cabinets, and it definitely strained my shop space at times.

These are made:

All around, it’s a budget solution to getting decent cabinets, but pretty labor intensive (I doubt I’d hand finish if I made cabinets again). Also, Lowe’s plywood is terrible for voids and the veneers are paper thin. I definitely sanded through a few places! :grimacing:

Basic Design and Assembly

I built the cabinets without toe kicks, so I could get the toe kick level first, since my shop floor is pretty uneven. (I found a 1" difference across the one set of cabinets!) This also allowed me to deal with the weird situation to cover over the fireplace hearth without ripping it out. I turned it into an electronics workstation, which works perfectly as a standing desk or with my tall IKEA chair. My feet rest naturally on the space inside the desk when sitting in the chair.

(That center section I just made by hand to fill in the space between the outer cabinets.)

Cabinet Boxes

Overall, the experience of making cabinets with the Inventables software and my CNC was a mix. The cabinet boxes (excluding the corner cabinet) were honestly pretty easy. There were some issues—especially trying to secure the outside cabinets with pocket-hole screws—but in general they went together smoothly and everything was (as expected) very accurate.

My one complaint about the boxes is the automatic layout just isn’t great. It’s often fairly wasteful, and in general requires tiling on full sheets. I found with a little careful manipulation, I could manually layout the pieces and configure the tiling to prevent panels from crossing tiles and needing any careful alignment. I was also able to fit stretchers in more places, since they don’t really need to worry about grain orientation.

Cabinet Box Modifications