Fox Alien repeatedly cutting on Y axis

Continuing the discussion from Toolpath Jumps Off Course During Cut:

I’m new to CNC, my wife was gifted a Fox Alien Masuter Pro and I’m trying Easel Pro because frankly I need something easy to use until I learn what I’m doing. That said, I have the machine set up, it moves X/Y/Z and homes as expected. If I create a project that has very shallow cut settings everything is fine, but if the project requires multiple passes each subsequent pass appears to shift on the Y axis and recut the first layer again.

I’ve set up multiple projects and the same things happens on all of them. Any idea what could be causing this?

Looks like your Y axis is loosing steps… there’s a handful of possible causes… Carving into a Knot won’t help either as Knots are more dense than the surrounding Pine wood…

And to borrow some information from a recent response from Brandon:

I would check the following:

1. Ensure your feeds & speeds are appropriate for your machine & cutter & material.
2. Ensure there are no loose V-Wheels or other components.
3. Ensure that there are no loose connections on each stepper motor and connector at the controller.
4. If you have a router as a spindle, the lower the speed setting the better for most things.

Those are just some common issues/comments that cause machines to veer off the correct toolpath while carving. Toolpath Jumps Off Course During Cut - #4 by BrandonR_Parker

Your Masuter Pro (I have one of those also BTW) should use the following cut settings as a default semi “Go-To” safe settings…
Feedrate: 500mm/min (20ipm)
Plungerate: 100mm/min (4ipm)
Depth Per Pass: 1mm (0.04")
And the stock spindle RPM max is 10,000, so setting any higher is simply wishful dreams as it will not exceed 10K… you can leave at 18K if you want, but it’ll never go that fast…
So with these more conservative settings and ensuring the Belt Tension is taught wigthout being too tight, the carve should be okay to re-run.