G-Code Import Feature Released

Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to post an announcement that the “G-Code Import” feature that had been in early access for a while is now available for all users.

You can refer back to the original topic for more information about how to use this feature:

Cheers,
Jeff

5 Likes

It’s perfect.

I machined yesterday. It works very goods
Thanks

1 Like

Does the g-code import feature need to be downloaded or is it just there to use? I am just getting started with the x-carve and a bit overwhelmed with the learning curve. I have Vcarve Pro and hope to get to making chips this week.

My laptop died. I got a new desktop and my questions are. I’m using V carve pro and was using UGS. Does the new G code by Inventables work as well? Or should I keep using UGS? Thanks

I draw in Illustrator, export .PDF under VCarve Pro, exports in G-Code (special format easel) and I plant under Easel. It works fine.
Easel, do me for sending the G-Code.
V-Carve Pro, do me for export to G-Code (Easel)
Maybe one day, Illustrator can export and send the G-code :grinning:

Thanks for adding this!

I am trying to import a gcode file from Aspire that I saved using the post processor I downloaded from Easel. When I go to Easel to do the import, I am getting this error:

I see why … since your spec doesn’t have G2 as a supported command. One of my vectors on the project I created using the Aspire circle tool and I though that might be it, since G2 seems to be related to drawing an arc, but when I removed it and tried to reimport, it didn’t work.

Any ideas?

(Edit: Yes, I saw this comment “Only linear movements are allowed (arcs must be linearized).” in the specs. Any ideas on how to linearize it in Aspire)

Thanks!

I am having problems with Vcarve & Carvey.

keep getting told my design is under my smart clamp but as you can see it is far clear from it.