Grbl Half step settings on X-carve (SOLVED)

Hello all, Im new to the x-carve (1000mm)and the x-carve forums. Ive searched the forums and couldn’t find the answer to my question(s). If this posting is in the wrong place, please let me know.

Ive gotten my x-c zeroed in pretty good with the full step settings on the X and Y axis’. I have been wanting to try the half step side of things (very intricate engraving) but cant find any formulas for setting up my machine. Ive set the appropriate jumpers and set $100 to 10. That setting seems to get me close but everything seem to be moving a lot faster. Other than trial and error does anyone know of a formula for setting up my machine for half stepping? Thanks in advance.

Chris

P.S. Just an afterthought. Are there any other settings that should be set in conjunction with the half step steps/per??

The microstepping is controlled by jumpers on the Grbl shield

The picture shows different micro stepping for each axis.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Allen, I have the jumpers set correctly, just wondering about the $$settings. Are there other settings that should be set when half-stepping? Ive noticed the stepper motors are louder than before and the rate of travel is much faster.

Default settings for Inventables delivered gShield.

$100=40.000 (x, step/mm)
$101=40.000 (y, step/mm)
$102=188.976 (z, step/mm) (with ACME Z axis )

1 Like

The way I understand microstepping is that you only need to set the jumpers, no changes are needed in settings.

But I have not tried to change the mirostepping, so I may be misinformed,