Guitar Inlays

Hey everyone. Looking for some advice on a type of glue to hold down shell inlay materials allowing a complete cut out then a debonder or water etc to remove it from a back board?

I’ve tried the masking tape trick but I’m using 0.3mm endmills to get the fine details, they seem to pick up some of the glue from the tape on the final pass which in turn either breaks the bit or makes a mess on the next cut.

I’m thinking a glue that goes hard but dissolves easily off would be the answer to my problem. Anyone doing this? Or is there an easier way?

Any advice would be appreciated. I’ll stick up a few pics of the current model for you too.

Thanks, Thistle.

1 Like

All done on the xcarve 1000 using easel pro

2 Likes

Have you checked out Highline Guitars on YouTube. I think this guy is the cats meow when it comes to building guitars.

Link to one of his videos.

Inlay gluing by same artist.

Thanks Robert. I’ll have a good look through his videos.

I have some experience with inlays like the ones in his videos. The last two pictures are both sides of the keyring for the flashlight that charges the luminlay fretboard side markers. I make them out of the end of each guitars fretboard. One side is abalone the other is white glow in the dark pigment added to a casting epoxy. It works fine but lacks the panache of a natural material.

Gluing them in isn’t the problem. It’s keeping the material secure in the xcarve while still being easy to remove. Bigger things are fine. It’s the little breakable bits. The cut goes good then I destroy the piece trying to remove it from the backing I’ve glued it to.