Hello Everyone guitar builder new to the X carve

Hello Everyone,

I am an acoustic and electric builder who just purchased an 1000mm X-Carve from a guy on a whim. This is going to be a fun experience I’m sure. my main initial goal would be to rough out my electric bolt on necks quickly, and maybe do some simple inlay on acoustic headstock veneers.

From a software point of view, what does everyone use? I just downloaded ink scape to create SVG files, but what about a CAD type program like Sketch up, or Fusion 360? I can’t see being very accurate using just Easel… Also, can someone point me in the right direction to maybe a crash course on Easel?

Thanks in advance.

Jimmy

1 Like

yeah Easel is not limited in accuracy, but it is limited in functionality.

Vcarve is good. Meshcam and Fusion360 are good alternatives that won’t cost you an arm and a leg.

Thanks everyone. I will keep moving along with Fusion 360. My machine should be here later this week. Hopefully I get over the learning curve with 360 sooner rather than later. I appreciate the input.

Jimmy

Fusion360 may feel intimidating at first but once you have the grasp of things it is very powerful indeed.
Its free for hobbyists/start-ups and is a full blown 3D modelling (CAD) and post processor (CAM) system.