Help needed: Easel on Mac can't see my CNC

CNC newbie here. Just got a Sainsmart 3018 ProVer from my wife for Christmas and am having issues connecting to it on my mac.

I am able to get both Easel and Candle to see the CNC on my Windows laptop so I know it’s working and the USB cable is good.

On my mac, Easel can’t see the CNC. I can’t use Candle as the Candle CNC “CH34x” driver can’t be installed due to the known macOS compatibility/security issues.

Here’s my setup:

• Intel based Macbook pro 16 inch 2019 (4 USB C ports
  • Sainsmart 3018 ProVer CNC, GRBL controller 2.1 (what the controller module shows on the screen)
  • Mac OS 12.6 (Monterey)
  • Using Chrome browser version 108.0.5359.124
  • Downloaded and installed the “Easel driver” Mac package (installed with no issues/warnings).
  • Easel works fine other than not connecting. Also tried it using Safari with the same no-comm issue.
  • I have tried plugging the cable into each of the 4 USB ports with no connection
  • I have “Parallels” and can run Windows 10 on my Mac, but still have the same problem where Easel and Candle can’t see the CNC even with the proper Windows drivers installed.
  • On my Windows laptop, it works fine depending on which USB port I plug it into.
  • In the Mac “system report”, I don’t see anything listed in the USB section when the CNC is plugged into any of the 4 USB ports

I suspect it’s something weird the Mac USB PORTS.

I do have a Wacom tablet on the mac (not plugged in but I did install the Wacom driver) but there is no “conflicting USB driver” on the mac I cab find as noted on the Easel help pages.

Appreciate any advice on how to get Easel to see the 3018ProVer on my Mac

Thanks!

– Kevin

Did you try to install the driver for the CH340?
It doesn’t matter what sender you use if your computer can’t communicate with the CNC controller.

1 Like