Help Requested : New to CNC, need advice on Aluminum

Hey everyone,

Thanks ahead of time for taking a look at this. I’ve been browsing forums and looking at devices, but I don’t have a background in CNC. I’m a little familiar with CAD software, but that’s about it. I’m a programmer by trade, so I actually feel like the software side of things will be the easiest for me. I’m a hobby woodworker at home, so I have some familiarity with terminology, but not much machinist experience. Cutting to the chase, I have an idea for a product I’d like to market.
To create this product, I need to be able to create 72+ holes in aluminum (preferably), and they need to be at least 1/2-3/4" deep at about 10mm diameter (I know I just committed a crime by shifting from imperial to metric in one sentence, don’t kill me!). The tolerance on this project would be much aided by CNC. So I’ve been looking at CNC kits. From what I can tell, the x-carve, Shapeko, and similar products are not very well suited for aluminum, especially at the depth I’d like to cut. It doesn’t seem impossible, but even if I managed to rig up something that could do it, it seems that it’d be very slow with the spindle tool sizes allowable. By browsing these forums, I see some more expensive tools like the Tormach solutions that look like they could easily do what I need, but are a bit on the expensive side and ramp up the risk of my endeavor significantly.

Is what I’ve said here accurate? Are there any people out there with experience in this area that can make recommendations? I’d really appreciate any help I can get.

I started working in my fathers machine shop in 1964 and became a CNC programmer in 1981. All my work has been high tolerance aerospace parts. Since you want to manufacture a product and don’t have the know how I suggest one of two things.