Help with Boxes

Hello, I am somewhat new to the x carve. I have been doing simple projects with Easel. I have been lately doing a lot of work in the shop with box joints on only two sides, primarily making beer/wine caddies. I have been cutting the box joints by hand myself but I would like to figure out how to get the xcarve to cut the entire pieces out. I saw the dogbones app and Im not thrilled with the circles in the corners. I think I would rather have a rounded corner and finish the cutouts with my band saw. Can someone help me or point me in the direction of figuring out how to make these? Ive been working with walnut a bunch as well and I prefer to limit my kindling pile lol…its gotten pretty large these days.

Here is an example of what I have been doing. This is a caddy I made for my wifes horse grooming supplies.

3 Likes

Here is the beer box I made. If anyone could help, thanks in advance…

Mike

4 Likes

Box Designer. Give us dimensions and we’ll generate a PDF you can use to cut a notched box on a laser-cutter. Check out this example box design. People …

2 Likes

Thats pretty cool, but I dont want joints on all four sides. I suppose i can overlay a box over those joints and set the cut depth to zero then combine them. The other problem is I use 3/4" material on the ends and 1/2 on the sides. Im not sure that site will account for the different depths.

Mike

If you use a 1/8" end mill to cut your joints, it is only 1/16"r left in the corners. It only take a pass or two with a file. You could probably make a sanding stick with a T profile that would make short work of it. I’ve done quite a few projects with joints and it is just a few seconds to knock that little radius out.

Do you use the box app on easel? How do you design them?

no sir. I draw everything in Cad.

Take a look at this post about the dogbone app
Box Carve/Design - Problem/Question

Some people have been using dovetail generator apps like this one to make curved dovetails: