Help with dust shoe

Hello there again!
Since I created successfully my first to projects with your help,
I wanted to give it a shot with a dust boot. Until now I am sitting next to my CNC all the
time and hold the vacuum cleaner to not make a massive mess.

This is my first try and I tried to keep it quite small.
Unfortunately the dust cover goes under my bit.
It really depends on the height of the wood…
I have seen many similar dust boots here, but does noone have a similar problem?
Usually I would just buy the Suckit Dust Boot, but I think I cannot attach it to my CNC.
Any hints you could give me? Thanks (once again)

You can buy brush strip which you could attach on instead of the plastic, or if you are dead set on keeping the plastic you could trim it down a bit and cut the sluts a bit further. I think with it being long and not slit very far you will always have bother with it getting in the way of short-medium bits

Thanks I already thought about it.
But wouldn’t I have the same problem that it might get under
the bit as well? Or is it not important that the brush strip touches
the ground?

If you make your dustboot a bit larger so that the plastic or brush is further away from your router than it is long it won’t catch the bit. Here is a picture of my attempt on a diy one.

My dust boot is similar to yours, however I made a few simple mods…

My “skirt” is made of heavier rubber, so it kinda hangs down quite well. I also cut the strips a little differently - to keep them fairly heavy, while also trying to keep them flexible, I made every second cut go almost to the top, while the cuts in-between only go “half-height”.