How NOT to design a dust catcher

Posted by request of @CurtisCummings since I brought it up in another thread.

I wanted to roll my own vs. buying, and have a 3D printer so took the challenge as practice designing. NOT an ME by trade. Goals I was after was a) mating up to existing Rockler ‘small tool’ dust hose, which I have routing to a larger diameter hose fitting against the wall behind the machine to my 2HP dust collector for my cabinet saw, b) wanted it off the side of the mount since I thought all the big ones looked like they weighted the Z-axis ‘down’ in front too much (potentially tilting the bit in the YZ plane…I’ve done nothing to improve rigidity of my X rails yet), and c) I was trying for something I didn’t have to remove to change bits, could just loosen and slide down a tad, and then retighten. It’s also more of a ‘fixed’ dust catcher design intended to set at a clearance height above the bit tip vs. having plastic wipes or brushes.

So, the ugly truth:

The top ring is fixed and just there for extra stress relief to the hose fitting in the part below, it screws right into the threaded hole in the router mount and never has to be altered. The bottom assembly has that vertical shaft and similarly pinches to the router mount with a 4mm screw. If I remove the hose I’ve got a split in the round mount for the hose so I can access that hardware easily to loosen and slide down out of the way, to change bits (the router lock button is not blocked) , then return to the desired height and push the hose back on. The shoe itself is printed as 2 pieces, a bottom that’s kind of boat-shaped with the circular bottom aperture, and a lid with the vertical shaft and hose attach point, then I just cut the clear cover out of a piece of waste plastic I had laying around from something else (hence the writing barely visible on it.)