I'm Looking For Tips on Inlay's

Hello everyone,

I’m fairly new with the x-carve and so far I like it.
Tried my luck on inlay’s today for a gift and I don’t like the result so far.
What type of bits do you guys use? Are you guys using Easel?
First cut, I chose “fill”
second, I chose “outside”

in my photo, there are gaps (which I don’t like) and the inlay wood cracked because it did not lay flat as the first cut left longer tips on the letters than the outside cut.

V-Carve inlay process makes it easy, but you need V-Carve Pro. For Easel, I know it is really important to measure your bit. Bits are often not the size they say they are. Also, if you can deep some of the saw dust from the darker wood, you can make a paste with glue and smear it into the cracks.

if you want straight-wall inlays, maybe cut the pocket first with 0.5mm leftover, and then do a final cleaning pass

1 Like

What I found when I first started, and it looks similar to yours, was that my router was sitting at a slight tilt and I needed to shim it to be perfectly straight up and down. Yours look like they fit on one side but not the other…mine was the same and when I looked close I could see the sides of the cuts were tapered one direction…so under on one side and sticking out on the other…

1 Like

There is a great tutorial on youtube for inlays.
It talks about fixing areas that do not look as good. Even with experienced folks you will get some imperfections. The trick is to use some of the inlay material and create a filler to hide the cracks etc. I would post the link but I can’t remember it right now. The guy was doing a wood inlay and mixed sawdust from the original wood material with glue and squeezed it into the areas that were bad. After it dried he then sanded it. You almost could not tell it had been a crack or bad area. You can also chisel out bad areas and glue a good piece on top and seal it. Just have to be crafty at it. practice first to get the technique down.

1 Like