In Praise of Easel

I spent a full day in the shop today fine-tuning a production run of one of our Launch Controller parts. My perspective of the X-Carve Pro and Easel might be a bit different than most. I was an electronic technician, later in I.T. as a self-trained server administrator and network manager. I can program my way out of a wet paper bag, and was a web designer and administrator for a couple of years along the way. I live next door to a retired NASA Engineer. We talk tools a lot. He is very impressed with the XCP, but did not really have a reaction when I described how Easel drives my machine in a web browser from the cloud.

Back in the 90’s when I was learning HTML, XHTML, CSS, and the DOM (Document Object Model) the dream was to see Applications that truly ran in a browser, independent of the operating system. I have not seen everything - but it strikes my that Easel is a fine realization of that dream. It is true that quite a few Micro$oft and Google applications have done this. But I think that controlling a sophisticated CNC from a web browser is beyond anything I could have imagined.

The reason I am writing this today is that you might not have thought about Easel in quite the same ways, and if you are younger you might take some or all of this functionality for granted. I do not recommend it. The amount of thought that the Inventables team have put into this application is nothing short of remarkable. I rarely use the word awesome. Easel is truly awesome.