Initial Setup Homing Switch Problem

Hello everyone. First, let me say that I am a complete newbie when it comes to CNC and all the terminology that goes along with it so please bear with me. I’ve been reading different threads on here for the past couple of days and I can’t find an answer to my specific problem. I just finished putting together my X-Carve 1000mm and have installed the software and drivers and have now gotten to the initial setting up of the machine. I have the Limit Switches (Homing Switches) and I can’t properly home the machine. The Z-Axis does just what it’s suposed to do (brings the Dewalt 611 to the top, engages the switch, motor stops, then brings the router down just a bit and motor stops again). Then the X and Y axis begin the sequence of bringing the router to the lower left corner but once either homing switch enages the actuator on the X or Y-Axis (depending on which gets there first), it stops but the motor just keeps running and prevents the final Axis from finishing up the procedure. I’ve checked all the wires, soldering and common ground connections and they seem to be fine. Do I have bad homing switches or is there some other reason for this problem. Thank you in advance for your comments.

Rob - you should be able to check the homing switches by manually engaging them and then dump their values from grbl. I think you can send ? from a terminal and get the limit switch values (doesn’t work with UGS - just tried). I know you can use gcode with Marlin to get the values (M119) but I don’ know about grbl.

-Tom

Take a look at this thread: