Inkscape icons

I’ve just downloaded Inkscape. I’ve never used it or anything like it before, so was going to try to edit this file to create a tray, but the icons on each side are so small I can’t even get a clue to what each might do. Does anybody know how to resize these? When I first downloaded and opened the application the window opened up tiny, everything was proportional, and just looked really zoomed out, but when I maximized the window everything stayed the same size. I’m completely at a loss here.

Try this:

Edit->Preferences->Interface to set icon sizes

I think you have to restart Inkscape for it to work…

Thank you for your help!

I’ll try that…
This is weird, everything I click that opens in a new window opens in the smallest possible form.

Ok,
I changed all those to the largest possible and then closed and reopened the application. No change.

Interesting…I just tried on my desktop with a big 4k monitor and I get the same things as you…it works fine on my laptop. Let me play and see if I can figure this out…

Thank you very much!!!

1 Like

Ok, I assume you are using Inkscape version 0.92.4 (or something like that).

That version does not support Higher resolutions very well.

I just installed version 1.0 from here: All Platforms for Inkscape 1.0 | Inkscape

To adjust icon sizes there Edit > Preferences > Interface > Theme
and adjust the icon sizes…restart to take effect…I went with larger and I can see them fine now.

Version 1.0 does not replace the older version it installs in addition to v0.92.4 so make sure you choose the correct one when you launch the program.

There is a way to fix the older version as well…just found this:

He explains the setting to change on the shortcut at the 5:05 mark of the video.

Thanks for all the help on this! I’ll try your suggestions as soon as possible!

1 Like