Is it possible to tile cuts

Hi Guys

I’m new to this and am still finding my feet. I occasionally have a need to make cuts larger than the 800mm2 cutting size that the Xcarve allows.

I was wondering if there was a way in easel to tile a cut that is larger than the max cut size of the xcarve so that you could cut, move your material and then carry on with the cut.

I know that this is possible with some other programs and works relatively well.

Hey @BenTyler,

I too am going to soon need to cut larger than 1000mm x 1000mm parts. My plan is to use registration marks at a fixed distance to move the zero to create a sort of analog cheat for tiling. For example, the spindle starts at zero for the first 31" and one of the things I cut on the first “tile” is a one spindle bit diameter hole at 30". Then when the first tile is finished cutting, I slide the work piece down the Y-axis fence to keep it square, then I load up file number two which has a zero that matches that hole I created in the first tile. File number two has the ability to carve another 1000mm x 1000mm “tile”, so there’s almost no foreseeable limit to what you can carve length-wise along the Y-axis, unless of course I’m missing something obvious.

Chris

Hi Midnight

Yep that’s exactly what I was thinking of. I just wondered if there was a way in Easel to have your design split into two or three depending on how big the cut is, or if you would have to prepare it in another software package first and then import it into Easel. If not that would be a very cool addition to Easel which I can’t imagine would be that hard to add in.

Thanks

Ben

Hey @BenTyler,

My thought is that “tiling” software is very complicated (read expensive), so while Easel is still free, that might be a feature they add later than sooner.

I found this video that sort of explains what I was already thinking.