Linux cnc use for x-carve?

Has anyone used the linux cnc software for their X-Carve? If you have please PM with a bit of guidance on getting it off the ground.

1 Like

I would like info on this idea as well…

I don’t know how much of a difference there is in electronics between the X-Carve and the Shapeoko2, but that might be a place to start your search. It’s possible with that combination.

also interested in this. unless there are other options for free or open source CAM controller software.

I’m still new to the maker world, but I just ordered my x-carve, so this is a “work in progress…”

I am a Linux fan - BIG TIME! I was hoping to come to the forum and get some advice, not give it, but HERE’S MY PLAN (This seemed MUCH simpler than “learning” LinuxCNC.):

I ordered an x-carve WITHOUT the “electronics package” since “Easel” was not Linux-compatable. I am going to manually attach the “mechanical” X-Carve to my Arduino UNO with a 4-axis, GRBL-compatble motor controller shield (Arduino CNC Shield – 100% GRBL Compatable | Protoneer.co.nz). I am using LibraCad and Universal G-code Sender as cad/cam.

UNO + GRBL-shield = $60 (on ebay)
LibraCad + UGS = $0
X-Carve was (in my opinion) best value for a CNC due to it’s limitless expansion capability. If all goes well, I hope to expand it BEYOND 1000mm x 1000mm (maybe 8ft+ x 4ft+), but deflection may be a issue, but that is a conversation for another forum)

I had SO MUCH success with the above set-up with a Sharpie-marker mounted to drawer slides and controlled by Acme Screws, that I decided to buy the X-Carve.

I figure if my crude Drawer-slide-machine could make accurate drawings, then the X-Carve could actually MAKE the Items I was drawing…

I hope I’m right, BECAUSE I HATE WINDOWS and I don’t want to buy a Mac just to run the X-Carve with “easel” (even though I am hoping they make Easel Linux-compatable, soon!)

3 Likes