Longer Router Bits for Guitars?

Hi,
I am new to the cnc world and looking for a little help on bits. As of this point I’ve experimented with a few different bits. My main questions is, what length of bit should I be using to cut 1" 3/4 stock? I would like to cut 1/8 inch holes at 1"3/4 depth, as well as cutting the shape of the guitar. I’ve used some 1/4 shank 1/4 OD to cut the shape of the guitar but find that my bits are always a little short. The router I have mounted up is the Dewalt 611. To cut my 1/8 inch holes right now, I have the machine tap the holes with a 1/16th bit inch then I use my drill press. I would like to know if there is a way around this and is there some longer bits to purchase?

ebay is your friend

Yeah but what length of bit?

That’s going to be a tad challenging, given that it’s outside the standard range of cut lengths for quarter-inch bits. Certainly available, you will just find them as milling cutters, not router bits. Using a 1/8" bit with that much stick-out is going to be REALLY shaky… Quarter-inch is entirely ok at those lengths as long as you are careful.

McMaster-Carr has a 1 3/4 cut depth. You could also use a reduced-shank bit for the purpose.

Thank you Dan! Exactly what I was looking for. I should’ve known to check McMaster. I figured 1/8 inch holes was a little unstable at 1 3/4 depth but wasn’t sure. Thanks

Hey, no problem. I’m ALWAYS poking around there, they’ve got every cool thing known to man.