Neal's wooden clock

I have mentioned in other threads that I am starting to build a wooden clock, I thought I would go through some of the methods and solutions I have used.

The plans are meant for cutting out on a band saw and not a cnc machine.

I have found these free plans here:-

WC5

I have to say that I live in the far north (Ålesund, in Norway) and access to normal hobby stuff is not easy, for example Baltic Birch marine grade is easy to find but the brass rods for making the bearing are impossible to buy for me here.

After moving from England, I am now not imperial any more and have gone over to as “Captain Slow” calls it continental measuring (millimeters)

The WC5 drawings come as PDF files and are not dimensioned as to be able to redraw/use them in a cad program, but as I used to work as a technical drawer (Autocad) I was able to rip the drawings from PDF and wobbilify them into Vcarve so that they would be acceptable enough for cutting. I can go through the process, if any one requests it.

So now the frame is cut out.

My next hurdle is the brass rod bearings, I tried all my Ironmonger
shops here in Norway, nobody has brass rods and definitly not 1/4 inch, luckily I remember seeing that someone mentioned cheap skateboard bearings from China, so I checked on Aliexpress and found these,

Flange Ball Bearing

these are meant to be used on laser printers or 3D printers, I deemed them as good if not better than a brass to wood bearing… thoughts please

I will try to keep you all informed as I go along.

Thanks for your time :slight_smile:
regards Neal

I too made a wooden clock (one of these http://www.woodenclocks.co.uk/page70.html )and had the same problems sourcing parts (I live in Australia).

In the link above, I know Brian has a few links where you can order clockmaking stuff online (I never did because it’s still very expensive shipping stuff to Oz).