Need bit advice! Deep pocketing operation

Hey folks!
I’m still learning to use my xcarve and I just finished a project I’m proud of. Unfortunately at the end my bit snapped inside the collet. It was the black ring solid carbide 2 flute straight endmill. I plan on doing this particular carve quite a bit so I’m wondering if there is a sturdier bit I should be using. I’m not sure why it snapped where it did but is there any kind of bit folks can recommended for this type of work? Any advice for repeatedly pulling off a project like this? Anything I might have done wrong to snap this bit? I cut some bloodwood and then maple with it.

3 Likes

What was the diameter of the bit that snapped? I’d think a beefy 1/4” upcut would be sturdy enough.

Gorgeous box design!

1 Like

The box is super nice. Good job.

1 Like

Use a 1/4 inch Upcut and alittle bit slower feed rate should be fine

What was it doing when it snapped?

Snapping inside the collett usually => incorrectly inserted/insufficient clamped.
Could also be a freak occurance :wink:

1 Like

It was this guy!
https://www.inventables.com/technologies/solid-carbide-2-flute-straight-end-mill

So if I didn’t tighten my collet down enough? I was using the 1/8 adapter that comes with the x-carve main kit and I was worried I’d tighten it TOO much and snap the bit. I felt like it was really tight but maybe it wasnt. Got through about an hour and a half of cutting before it snapped… and honestly, I wasnt the one babysitting the machine when it happened so the person that was watching it didnt know any different.

It was doing the outside section of the carve.cutting the final shape out. It had finished all of the pocketing at this point

Either go with a 1/4" bit, and/or, you can buy sets of 10 1/8" bits for next to no money on Amazon.

I’ve got a good lead on a 1/4 carbide spiral upcut bit I can pick up after work.