Need help with UGS connecting to XCarve

So I am new to the XCarve and new to universal g code sender. I am a journeyman machinist so I am familiar with G-code. I need help in how to get UGS connected to my XCarve - when I try to jog the axis, it sounds like it tries to move but that the axis is locked or clamped or something, so something is not right here. Also does UGS need to work in conjunction with other software to work - I really just need something I can load G-code into and send to the X controller. What am I missing, I am not a computer whiz but I can follow instructions- please help

UGCS sender needs JAVA to work.

Can you give more info?

When you try to run UGCS, what things have you tried.

grbl uses 115200 for the baud rate. Do you have 115200 set in UGCS?

Did you run machine setup in Easel (setup is easiest way but it can be done another way)?

Are you sending an $X command before attempting to jog? My machine always comes up in “alarm” state when I use UGS, and I have to send $X to unlock it.

You can also import your Gcode into Easel, if you want to give that a shot. I’m more a fan of UGS, though.

Sounds like UGS is communicating alright, but motors are stalling for some reason.
Those reasons may be:

• Microstep level incorrect vs step/mm which can result RPM above the motor capability (torque drop at speed and eventually any stepper will stall)
  • Rapid rate in excess of what the machine can do. Check $110-112 values
  • Acceleration rate may be too aggressive, or a combination with rapids that just dont play nice
  • Mechanical issues

What are your values for:
$100-102
$110-112
$120-122

A pic of the controller board exposing switches will also tell us a whole lot (if there are discrepancies)

Yes I have java, the baudrate is 115200 and I did run setup in Easel

Most likely you have a set up error with homing enabled, but you don’t home your machine.

Please post your $$ output from grbl.