Need some help on a small MDF sign

Hello all! Complete newbie here working on my second carve. I’m trying to carve a 3x5 beer sign to label my home brew to sit on top of my kegerater. I’m trying to Vcarve it in Vcarve pro. I’m using a 1/8 in clear out bit and then a 60 degree 1/4 wide V bit. It came out very rough and unfinished. I’m sure a lot of the problems are with my design in Vcarve pro and maybe the size, but I want to know what you guys think. Thanks.

It was some old scrap stuff I had laying around. i figured I would use a bunch of my scraps to learn. Whether it be MDF or pine which I deal with the most.

On my 1/8 in clearout I used .0625 doc with .05 stepover. 60 inch feedrate. 20 inch plungerate.

I guess another way of asking, is how would you guys carve this program?DG’s Awesome Amber.crv (916 KB)

Thanks Phil!!! I really appreciate all of your insight on this forum! I’ve learned a lot from the likes of you and Robert and many others! I have a lot of scrap MDF laying around as well as Pine and figured this would be a good way to test out my newbie skills. Or lack thereof! lol

1 Like

Thanks again!!! Am I going about it the right way in the file I provided? I feel like I’m missing a step with the finishing carve.

.25" for your vbit cut dia?
Does your V-bit have a flat tip?
Did you actually measure it?
I measure mine as they are not listed on the container they came in nor on the site.

If it was me, with MDF I would reverse the carve. So that the lettering is carved out as opposed to raised as this is.

MDF chips and tears out really easily so I tend to avoid thinner sections.
It will also cut a lot faster. :wink:

I can’t open your file right now but I am guessing you selected the text AND the box area around it?

If you selected just the text it should carve it out the letters as a V carve.