New to CNC, Can the X-Carve do this?

I’m new to this CNC and wondering about something. I currently make small wood projects, cutting boards, coasters, etc… I have been really tossing around the idea of getting a CNC machine for a simple project. I want to make a cutting board US flag using three different types of wood. I have seen several different methods of doing this. Is the X-Carve capable of doing this? i’m not sure if all CNC machines are created equal. So i’d like to make this, but would like to replace the dots on the cutting boards with actual starts. thanks

Yes can do. It is V-Bit inlay if I’m not mistaking. It is possible.

Of course pictures not showing whole process. Those white stars on clean-up on the picture, after that must be male inlay process with V-Bit again.

I’m not sure of the exact toolchain the fellow is using there, but that kind of cutting is well within the X-carve’s capabilities. I’d suggest getting the version for the DeWalt mount, and getting the 611 right off the bat.

I’m having a blast with mine! :smile:

Something is definitely missing. I don’t know why he is using a v-bit on those pockets when the stars are not tapered. I suggest you also look at V-Carve Software by Vectric - it has auto inlay capability to simplify this process for you. Also search for “Drunken Woodworker” who is using an x-carve to make inlays and demonstrates a unique and much more detailed process using just Easel (which I have never used, but looks very easy to learn and less capable than V-Carve).

Like a said, pictures are not showing whole process. It is simple, he’s using 30 degree V-Bit on first picture, second picture showing large area cleaning process, must be third picture using 30 degree V-Bit again. Third picture he’s inserting male inlay to female stars with the glue. Last process is sending down after glue dry. (What ever that machine is, terrible surface cleaning.)

He’s using High-Z S-720/Т, CNC Milling machine and V-Bit.