New to CNC Design

Hi every one. I am a complete noob when it comes to CNC design and was wondering how you all learned how to design. I have been working with sketch up mostly which I also very new with.

Here is the product that I have created.

For the most part everything is at the correct dimensions that I would like the carve. One un expected thing happened when I rotated around to the bottom of the box. When using the push pull tool it was moving the the lines up and down instead of re scaling them like it normally does. (I want the bottom to be flat)

Any one have any ideas as to why this would be happening?

Also what would be the next steps into getting this set up on Easel to carve? I know that it needs to be a .svg file but it does not appear to be able to export in that format.

Any help for a good would be greatly appreciated. And if any one knows some where a good place is to go learn how to design for CNC that would be greatly appreciated!

Ryan

Hi Ryan,
Designing and machining is different propositions. Designing models like you’re showing is the job for any 3D design Software like 3D Fusion, Autocad, TurboCad ETC.
When comes to machining that design, which the machine we have X-Carve only capable of running 2.5D not 3D.
lets say we cut also botom plate on this box design and make it 3 pieces, it is possible. All we’re doing is after finish design, we’re generating some kind of machine language called G Code. The secondary Software takes this G code and communicates with the CNC Router by sending all those codes line by line to little tiny board named Arduino, Arduino sends signals to another controller board, other controller board controls every other gizmos on the machine like Steppers, spindle.

Short story, if you planning to dive into CNC Routing business could be for profit or Hobby, this is the chain. The key is creating design. Generating G code is the easy part.

I hope this puts a little flash light to your question.