Newbie here pls help

Just got the Xcarve 1000. question: what does it mean to 3D carve? My wife mentioned to me last night that she paid for me to everything. I see people creating 3D. how ?

3 d carving involves having the tooling move up /down front / back and left to right to create a 3 dimensional object. In order to really do this, you need 3d software. I use Rhino 5. Fusion 360 and others are newer and more popular it seems. You also need to convert the 3D drawing to Gcode and that will involve a Cam program. I use Meshcam. I don’t use Easel, but it is capable of 2.5D I guess.

Your X-Carve can carve any of the things you see in the links below. There are people on ETSY that sell 3D STL files for CNC or you can get files for free from Thingiverse. You will need a program to go from STL to G-code and most programs that do this take a while to learn and master.

Here, a V bit carves a sign. This sort of work is typically called 2D or 2.5D and works by having the machine carve along the outline of black and white line art.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVqMkc6bq_0

Here, a 3D carving of a pegasus gets carved. This 3D carving goes beyond 2.5D in that it has realistic contours, not simply outlines and varying depths.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcKq08oLQBw

I create my own 3D models which I share on Thingiverse. For example, I created this 3D model which will produce 4 wooden spoons. You run the CNC tool path and it cuts one side then you flip over the board and run the program again which finishes the job. I use Vectric V-carve Desktop to convert the STL files to G-code which I then run on my machine. I use other software to create the STL file.
Spoons for CNC by OpenScadDad - Thingiverse

How to carve 3D images or reliefs on the X-Carve the easy way.