No mechanical knowledge, can I set up/use an xcarve?

I’m a graphic/web designer and somehow stumbled across the xcarve. Now I really want one but don’t really have much mechanical knowledge. Can someone who knows nothing about cnc machines set this up, get it running, and troubleshoot any issues?

Can files be imported from illustrator or sketchup?

I dabble in woodworking and would want to design my own files and use it for mostly cutting wood/plywood/mdf. Would this machine be able to cut designs like this?

What type of setup would be best for this?

Are you only limited by the width of the workspace? With the larger model could you theoretically cut something 8’ long by stopping the machine and moving the piece? Or you can really only cut 31x31?

I think the best way to answer that question is to view the assembly instructions here [http://x-carve-instructions.inventables.com/]. Once you’ve looked at them (a couple of times), you’ll be better able to answer this question yourself.
There are a lot of very experienced people in this forum who would only too happy to guide you through any problems you encounter in building or configuring the X-Carve.
I don’t know iIlustrator but you can certainly import designs from Sketchup.

As Angus mentioned, your limitation is going to be in how to handle sharp corners. Right now, using Easel you’re going to lose some of the resolution in those sharp inside corners.

You could, however use other programs such as v-carve and a v-bit to get the sharp edges. The tradeoff of course is that you won’t have square cuts… you will cut thru the material but be left with an edge at the angle of your bit’s cutter.

I vectored your example using V-carve desktop and here’s what it shows for the “preview”

This was set up with a 60deg. 1/4" v-bit. and assumed 1/8" material