Not cutting through (3018 Pro)

Hi everyone,
I bought the 3018 pro and the machine seems to run fine. I’m a newbie so it seems fine to me. It carves and does what I tell it too except when I want it to cut all the way through the material. For example. I wanted to cut out a square from the shapes menu from an 1/8 thick lexan. I slid my cut slider to the bottom and in depth i put .125. I go over to cut settings and set depth per pass to.04. I then hit carve, confirm all the settings, set my new work zero settings and hit carve. It just carves the square doesn’t go deep enough. I even tried the same steps with the settings set to half inch on the 1/8 lexan and still doesn’t cut through. It doesn’t make sense if I tell the machine to cut half inch deep using an 1/8 thick piece of material and it doesn’t cut through. Any ideas as to what is going on. Thanks for you help.

Try this:

• Use 1/8" Lexan for your material
  • Jog your bit down so it contact the board/base of the machine
  • Jog the bit up 3/16" and use this level as your z-zero
  • In your design set material thickness and total depth of cut to 3/16"
  • Carve

If the machine dont cut through then you most likely have play in the Z-carriage causing it to deflect a little.

thanks Haldor I’ll give that a try and let you know if it worked.

Hi Haldor, I tried what you mentioned and it didn’t work. I did check to see if there was play in the z carriage and think that might me it. Can you have a look on the link I’m posting below. The sound that the carriage is making in the video is exactly the sound I have on mine. Can this be causing the issue. If so I don’t see how I would be able to tighten that up. Its a brand new machine, I got it like two weeks ago. I really appreciate your help, hopefully one day I could return the favor.

The spindle seems tight on mine, its the clicking on the carriage that seems to be the issue.