Not sure on what bit to use?

Hello everyone…I am looking for suggestions on what bit to use for my majority of projects. I cut mostly 1" ( I know it isn’t 1") pine wood for shape cut outs. I have been using the compression bit on my x-carve 1000. Does anyone have any suggestion on if I am using the correct bit or of a better one to use? I am very new at this and just plugging along. I wish I knew someone who had done this stuff to pick their brains. Thank you.

Hi Debbie,
Is the compression bit giving you a clean edge? If so then you’re using the correct bit.
I use a 2 flute straight or an up cut bit to cut out shapes.
If you have more questions then ask away, someone will be able to help you.
Good Luck
Russell

1 Like

Hi Russell,
It is giving me a clean cut… Just big and I was wondering if there was a cheaper bit to use that will do the job as well. Like I said I cut mostly thick pine for crafters.
Thank you for responding. I will try that one also.

Debbie

You’re welcome, I use the 2 flute straight bit from Inventables and it does a good job, they’re pretty cheap.

https://www.inventables.com/technologies/solid-carbide-2-flute-straight-end-mill

Hey Debbie! I do the same and just purchased my machine. I am having a few issues getting all the way through the pine. I am using the 1/8 Straight 2F bit and wondering what depth you are cutting 1in Pine at? Also I see some yellow areas where the bit lifts during cutting. Any Ideas?