Part way through cut, machine decides to dig in to sidewall then goes haywire

Hi there,

I am new to my x-carve. I am trying to mill a pretty simple shape out of aluminum. I have done it a couple of time successfully but am still having issues.

it will cut fine for some time, then all of a sudden, it seems as though the bit digs into the sidewall, and once it gets hung up there for a sec, it actually seems to start going in reverse, but following the path backwards. but at this point, it is off of the actual path ans it trying to cut new material.

Here is a photo for some reference:

i thought that i was getting thermal throttling, so i went through the process of setting my pots. i basically had the x-carve move back and forth in each of the axis, setting the pots, finding the limits that caused thermal throttling, and then setting in the middle. these settings were able to run for at least 10 minutes without any issues so i deemed them proper settings. the voltage for each pot is in the 1.5 volt range. I have nema 17 motors currently.

cut settings as follows:
75 in/minute
8 in/min plunge rate
.005" doc

as mentioned, i have completed cuts before.

I was using a 12 volt psu which i understand can run the motors hotter, so i switched to a 24 volt, 500 watt psu now, hoping that it would help prevent thermal throttling.

any help correcting this is greatly appreciated. tearing up aluminum is no fun.

100ipm

I had similar issues. Adding a fan blowing on the drivers and a shielded USB cable fixed my issues.

THe machine does not return to zero. although i do not think i have that option turned on. I am not using homing switches as my z-axis acme screw seems to be bent and gets caught on the z-axis maker slide before getting all the way retracted.

I have a 120mm fan mounted on my controller enclosure blowing air directly down onto the gshield. i guess i could look into getting a shielded USB cable. not sure how to tell if my current USB cable is shielded or not.