Physical X Carve setup

I’m completely new to CNC operations. I’ve been a conventional woodworker all my adult life. I take delivery of my new X Carve Pro on Thursday. I’m very excited and want to prepare the table for it. I purchased the 24” model figuring that I can tile longer projects. I plan to place the machine on a heavy duty metal bench with a 2” butcher block top. This bench is mobile on heavy duty (locking) casters. This would allow me to move the bench with appropriate infeed/outfeed support for tiled projects.

Does this pose any problem with the initial leveling, set-up and surfacing of the machine?
I would think that as long as the surface is co-planer to the machine, that rolling the assembly around a slightly sloping garage slab would be okay, but would appreciate any reassurances or feedback.

1 Like

it only causes issue if you try to follow the part of the assembly where they bust out a level. Well it could also be an issue if the table is poorly constructed. I made mine using a torsion box design for the top and lower layer , & used 4x4 for the legs and there’s quite a few cross braces to keep the table very square, but even then it rarely gets rolled around the shop, I don’t think it’s moved in 9 months. Moving around a flimsy table could allow the base to shift and that could allow the cnc frame itself to get out-of-square and that would be problematic.

…Yes as long as the wasteboard surface is parallel to the spindle plane of movement than “level” plays absolutely zero part in a CNC setup. The stock wasteboard is Oversized, meaning you cannot surface the Entire thing, this causes issues with your Tiling. Sooo I suggest adding a Sacrificial Wasteboard atop the included one, the sacrificial one being smaller and within the surfacable work area, and surface that one flat and parallel to the spindles plane of movement. This will make future projects easier and more accurate!