Please Help! Newbie - "Outside Path" question

Hello there -

I am new to this software. I have a relatively easy job I am trying to cut with an XCARVE PRO. It is a jewelry box I am creating for my products, and I am hoping to do them in large quantity so I want to be able to cut as many as possible on the same workpiece. TOPS and Bottoms, so the wood matches etc.

My question is this: After I design the piece, I want to cut along the perimeter of the piece, with tabs, to be able to pop the piece out after the cutting is complete. I set a cut on the OUTSIDE PATH, and cut the depth of the piece. The TABS are automatically in place on the outside path, but the inside design (where I am cutting the perimeter around) returns to it’s normal height.

For instance, I have a 1" x 24 x 24 piece of wood. I am cutting a 7x7x.75 base for the box, with a 3" hole in the middle. When I finish designing this, I set the OUTSIDE path and the .75" dimension returns to 1" (the setting for the wood).

What is going on here? Is there a way to design my piece, and just set a perimeter cut? PLEASE HELP ME, I AM NEW TO THIS!

Also, Let’s say I don’t cut the OUTSIDE PATH and instead just put a “square” around the box and cut down the full depth of the board, around the shape I am trying to create. WILL THE Xcarve pro automatically make tabs for me? Or is this something I have to add? I have done this now and the tabs ARE NOT showing up. Please see these pics that show no tabs. THANK YOU so much for your help!

IF that outermost square is set to a “clear out a pocket” cut type, then no, tabs cannot be added.

IF you set the cut type to any of the other 3 options of Inside, Outside, or ON Path, then you will see the tabs option appear once the depth is set to full depth.

Unfortunately the simulation material does not display tabs, however, if you run the simulation and zoom in, and Hide the material , then you can see that the toolpath will in fact include lifts for the tabs as intended.