Profile cuts on MDF

I am having a lot of trouble with my profile cuts. I make signs for my wife’s etsy shop, and I am by no means an expert when it comes to vcarve/ easel/ xcarve. I am looking for help. The signs I am making are from 1/4 mdf. They are profiled cuts made for custom name designs. I am spending a lot of time sanding down the cuts after they a)re cnced. I have done several signs where no sanding on the side is required. (smooth finished sides). my machine is now leaving these path marks that I have to sand down. I have tried several different ways of correcting this and I am now stuck. I have attached a picture of the problem. Please help!

It looks like flex it your z check your wheels. Also grab your spindle and check for flex.

Thanks for your response DavidAnnetta,
I will check it out tomorrow. What does it look like, or how would I know if the spindle is “flexing”? Just any movement?

Depending on your issue you may be able to “cheat” it by doing the carve twice.
First make it run like you do now, but fudge with bit diameter in order to actually carve it slightly oversized.
Then make a second run, in full depth, to make it true in size. This will act as a finishing pass.

If the carve was good before but now show these “steps” I would check the mechanical side of things as David mention.

Is the MDF properly dry btw?
Also, what controller/motor system are you using?
Are all belt pulleys tight and Loktited?

1 Like

Check your bit for sharpness.

One of the things I learned is the default cut settings are a bit reserved. What spindle/speed are you using, what depth of cut, and rate of feed, and bit size? MDF cuts easily (compaired to hardwood). Are you making dust more than ‘chips’ while you are cutting?