Pulley ratios of x carve

I’m interested in converting my x carve to ball screws. The Z Axis seems like 1:1 since it runs pulley to pulley but the X and Y have me scratching my head,
does anyone know the ratios of the Nema 23 GT2 Pulleys?

They are 20 tooth pulleys by default, this should get you going.

I’m sure somebody else more knowledgeable will chime in here, but isn’t it based on the belt pitch, number of pulley teeth and step angle (of motor)?

The lead screw calculator on this page may help:

Thanks,
I guess my next question would be… what is the default step angle for the X carve NEMA 23 motors? I am considering a geared 23 in-line with a IGUS Lead screw so Ill have to match the gear ratio + equivalent lead screw pitch to equal to the GT2-20 tooth belted.
Why geared? you ask- I’ thinking torque for doing aluminum more than wood.
Any experience or comments on this? I would love to hear input before buying gear.

I’m not an expert on this but my understanding is nema 23 motors have 200 steps per revolution so without micro stepping it should cover 200x 2mm (for GT2 belts). Than I believe you just need to divide by micro-stepping value gshield is set to.

As far as geared motion if I were you I would seriously consider using this solution:

They have all you need and prices are very reasonable in my opinion.

Another area of investigation you will require is a way to reduce the flex in the X and Z carriage.
Having the extra torque is nice, but reducing the flex will make more of an improvement.

Example, the Z axis can be flexed (lifted) by hand quite easily. This makes plunge cutting the weakest operation of an X-Carve.

How well does your machine handling cutting Aluminum and wood currently?

1.8 deg (200 steps per rev)

oh yes, I’ll be milling and cutting many heavy duty parts for the conversion. I’ve already replaced the single 20 X 20 rails with 20X 40, and sandwiched a 50mm x 4mm strip between the gantry rails.